Get to know Animal Hospital of Polaris’ Ami Jones!

We’re proud to have amazing staff members at AHOP!  This month we’re putting the spotlight on Ami Jones.  Ami is a Customer Service Representative, and a soon-to-be Behavior Trainer which will allow her to teach classes and provide consultations!  Ami has had some awesome experiences with all sorts of animals, and was kind enough to share a few stories with us.

Ami, what do you like most about your job?
The staff and clients are extremely friendly.  Every day, every situation is different and it keeps things interesting.  My true love is helping owners with behavioral issues and helping them with their dog’s manners.  This ultimately helps increase their bond and seals a healthy relationship throughout their lives.

What is the hardest part?
When bad things happen to good people and/or their pets.

Can you share a funny story from your time with AHOP?
Several!  I got my head accidently shaved when I was holding a particularly squirmy dog for the groomer.  Also, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been “eliminated” on. 🙂

Do you have pets? 
Yes!  I have two kitties.  Mamma is a 14 year old, beautiful long-haired cat who loves to mother me.  She still tests my bath water with her paw before I’m “allowed” to get in.  Amiri is my male cat.  He’s 10 years old, and is definitely the spoiled prince of the house.  I’ve had so many pets over the years; it would take forever to list them!

Favorite pet?
All of them!

Tell us something interesting about yourself?
I have a Masters in Evolution, Ecology and Behavior with an emphasis on primatology and animal behavior.  I studied bonding patterns for my thesis, and I’m currently getting my certification as a Karen Pryor Certified Dog Trainer.

No animal adventure is too much for me!  I’ve personally released three rehabilitated black-handed spider monkeys back into the jungles of Costa Rica and cage dove with great white sharks off the coast of South Africa!

Next time your at AHOP, be sure to say “hi” to Ami!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Get to know Animal Hospital of Polaris’ Ami Jones!”

  1. Barbara Powrie Says:

    Yeah Ami!

Leave a Reply

